h1

A Satisfying Dinner

August 9, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

Dinner at the Costello house tonight was very enjoyable and very tasty. Check out the spread:

Dinner Spread

Now here are some of the menu items up close. First, the red quinoa I bought my mom in New York:

Red Quinoa

This was really tasty! I can’t say it’s better than regular quinoa, but I wouldn’t say that it’s worse, either. It’s just a slightly different tasting quinoa that stands on its own. Actually, it’s a little hard to say how exactly it’s different from regular quinoa, but I definitely thought it was crunchier and thus not as soft, and that it had what I can only describe as a darker taste. But overall, really good! I would definitely recommend you try it sometime.

Next, some leftover sweet potato and red lentil chili:

Sweet Potato Chili

This was also excellent! When my dad originally made this dish, he toned down the spice for my sister, and I have to say that I’m glad he did. Not because this dish was already spice already; rather, it’s just so flavorful on its own, it’d be a shame for all its flavors to be covered up by hot spices. As you can see, this is a chunkier chili, and I definitely preferred it that way. It also went great together with the red quinoa.

Along with these things, I made that awesome vegan cornbread we made the other night:

Vegan Cornbread

It just needed to have it again! It was, as expected, delicious (and also another great complement to the other two dishes). As you can see, this loaf looks flax-ier than our original one due to my non-golden flaxseed meal. Also, this loaf still had that rich buttery taste of our last one, even though I used regular unsweetened soy milk this time. So I really don’t know what’s giving it that taste. But I’m not going to complain; I’m happy enough just to know this recipe exists.

And that’s all for today. I’m hoping to have some interesting cooking adventures to report over the course of this week, but you’ll have to stay tuned to see what they are!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. The quinoa looks great! As does the chili! Sounds like a great dinner!

    Tomorrow I will probably post about the restaurants! 🙂

    Just in case somebody stumbles upon this page and wants the cornbread recipe: http://www.recipezaar.com/Vegan-Cornbread-115929 (1/2 c of sugar instead of 1/4 c and half the amount of baking powder)



Leave a Reply

