h1

Lunch: A Blog Post

August 2, 2009

Yasoo Willie!

Maya is now only sometimes trying to eat my face. The majority of the day is spent like this:

IMG_3399

It’s shocking sometimes how photographs can lie… She looks sooo innocent here.

As you probably already know, I have too many cookbooks. At least, too many that just take up space and offer little to tickle my culinary fancy. Maybe it’s due to the cookbook-gift-for-vegetarians phenomenon, but I have been trying to go through my cookbooks and have a short list of which will be coming to Brooklyn with me. Today, I decided to consult one that I bought for myself a few years back at one of those used book sales on CMU’s campus.

Rice: A Cookbook

Rice: A Cookbook is wonderfully eighties and I may have purchased it for its lovely kitsch factor but discovered that it actually has some pretty good recipes! (though they often need modification – I’ve never come across recipes that call for quite so much salt and butter…) Since I had some avos on hand I decided to try the Avocado Rice recipe:

Avo Rice

It may not look too spectacular, but it tasted great! Here’s my modded version of the recipe:

Avocado Rice


2 c. water+1/2 c pineapple juice (I had to use sweetened because that was all that was available, but I think it would be even better with unsweetened.)

1 c. long grain brown rice

scant 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tb olive oil

1 avocado (chopped and lightly mushed with 2 more tb of pineapple juice)

1. boil the pineapple juice/water mix, add rice and cook about 35 to 40 minutes (until rice is cooked).

2. once rice is cooked, mix in olive oil.

3. mix in avocado and continue to heat for a few minutes.

I really liked that with this recipe the flavors of each ingredient really stood out while still meshing well with one another. The pineapple lightened the dish up with a little fruitiness and the avocado gave it a great creamy texture. It was definitely a filling dish! My mother even liked it and she has a weird and unexplainable disdain for avocados. (I think she considers them an unwelcome invader on her turkey sandwiches…)

To accompany this dish I heated up a can of ful that Jenny left when she moved out:

IMG_Ful

Apparently, it’s made from a secret Egyptian recipe. I was a little nervous about this because I have made ful from scratch and even eaten ful cooked by real Egyptians, but it was really, really good. I think it must be the cumins:

IMG_3408

I was also pretty jazzed about the nutritional information:

IMG_3407

So much protein and iron! Anyway, I added some chopped up cucumber and clover sprouts to my mushy favas:

IMG_3417

Though I imagine I will stick to making ful from scratch for the most part, I would definitely pick this can up again if I saw it at the grocery store. In the end, I mixed the two dishes and they were even better together! I’ll try to get a ful recipe together to post on the blog at a later date because it is a really simple and delicious dish.

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

P.S. I really loved that Michael Pollan article (I type as I watch the finale of Food Network Star) 🙂  It was really great that he took an article that was clearly intended as partly publicity for Julie and Julia (which I do kind of want to see now…) and made it so much more informative and worthwhile.

One comment

  1. The rice recipe looks very good–I may need to make it sometime! Also, I’ve never had ful, but it also looks very tasty. I also like how the nutritional facts are so precise; I’m sick of all the rounded numbers you get on domestic labels.

    Also, was Maya’s name always spelled like the American Indians? It always weirds me out when I see it. I guess I just always thought it was spelled Mia…



Leave a Reply

