h1

Salad Days!

July 31, 2009

Darling Willie,

Earlier this week, I went to the amazing WF in West Orange to stock up on salad goodies. It has been so long since I had a good salad, on account of the moving and all, so I was very excited! After seeing Gena’s recipe for Creamy Avocado Cumin Dressing, I was really anxious to try it out on my salads. Unfortunately, the avos I bought weren’t ripe enough for me to make the dressing for the first salad. As you know, I much prefer to make my own dressings for salad for a multitude of reasons so I was pretty bummed that I would have to go sans-dressing or use one of the bottles my mother had in the refridgemonster. I know. Scary thought.

Although, when I saw this on the door:

IMG_3376

I was pretty excited to try this dressing. Since I had tried and LOVED Brianna’s Rich Poppy Seed Dressing, I had pretty high hopes for this bottle of Blush Wine Vinagrette. I prepared my salad as usual (with everything except maybe the kitchen sink):

IMG_3371

(chard with leftover lentils, clover sprouts, raw corn, jicama, dried cranberries, blueberries and cashews) I was pretty stoked all around, that is, until my first dip into the dressing. It was not very good at all. It was a little too oily and salty for me and it didn’t help that I think I had some sort of allergic reaction to it afterward. Maybe it would work better as a marinade? The salad itself was great though!

Today, the avos were finally ripe and I was able to try out the Gena’s dressing:

IMG_3381

Sorry the picture isn’t great… I think maybe I was just so anxious to eat it, I didn’t have much time for photographs! This dressing was fantastic! Although, if you were planning on making it, you might want to cut the amount of lime juice down. I know how you feel about citrus! I used the dressing to top the following:

IMG_3378

jicama wrapped cucumber (also inspired by Gena’s post) and:

IMG_3383

All around, very very satisfying! The jicama rolls were great! Though getting that jicama thin enough to use as a wrap was no small feat!

In other exciting news: I won my first blog giveaway ever! Care to Eat had TWO loaves of Dave’s Killer Bread to giveaway! I chose the Sprouted Wheat and the Spelt. I have been dying to try this bread since it started making its way around the blogosphere! I even considered seeing if Patrick’s fam would send me some… Anyway, I’m incredibly grateful to get to try this bread! Bonus: I might even get the package while you are visiting! Then you will get to try some too!

Well, I should be off to bed… G’night!

Until We Eat Again,

Caitlin

3 comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to make that Creamy Avocado Cumin Dressing too! I’m glad to see that we have similar tastes 🙂 Also, the jicama rolls looks AMAZING and I am blown away that you could do that with jicama. All around, a very awe inspiring post!


  2. Congratulations on winning the bread!!! You will enjoy it I’m sure.

    Have you been to the WF in paramus? It’s gigantic.


    • Thanks! I think I will probably end up dedicating at least one lengthy post to the bread, judging by the amazing things I have heard about it.

      I haven’t been to the WF in Paramus, I’ll have to check it out!



Leave a Reply

