h1

After the Flood…

July 31, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

So my hometown suffered through the effects of massive flooding following yesterday’s torrential downpours, I stayed inside, slept in, and did some simple cooking. I started the day off with a late breakfast; I was really in a cereal mood for some reason so I whipped up this tasty of goodness:

Tasty Cereal

It’s Kashi Go Lean! Crunch (Honey Almond & Flax) with raisins, wheat germ, and bananas on top, finished off with some 365 Brand soy milk I bought in Pittsburgh before I left (Side note: I feel like I have such low standards for soy milk; I am perfectly happy with the cheapest box stores have to offer. I wonder why that is…). This was a perfect way to start the day! Yum yum yum. I’m starting to crave another bowl now…

This held me over until evening, since we were had an early dinner tonight, which I was half in charge of. Mostly, I took care of the potatoes, using your lovely rosemary roasted potatoes recipe. Here’s how they looked in the end:

Rosemary Roasted Potatoes

These came out great! They were good good good and my whole family liked them—I think my dad is even going to take them with him to work tomorrow!

The main course was a simple red lentil recipe my mom suggested from the back of the Goya package. We basically followed the recipe as it was there (just the lentils with some spices, garlic, ginger, and onion), but I decided to put that panch phoran mix in there instead of the suggested cumin. We served this with white rice; I used my rice as a border between my lentils and potatoes:

Dinner Plate

So all in all a satisfying day of food! I’m hoping to get to the grocery store tomorrow, and I hope to have many more exciting food adventures to post soon!

Until we eat again,

Willie

2 comments

  1. WOW you did make a lot of potatoes! They look delicious as usual though! Which type of potato did you use this time?

    Also, the banner is really cute!


  2. These were russet potatoes, which I used simply because they were what was in the fridge (a whole 5 lb. bag of them!). Also, I’m glad you don’t hate the banner! 😀



Leave a Reply

