h1

I ate a lot of chocolate today.

July 28, 2009

Dearest Willie,

As you may already know, I had a rather early morning today, so this post may be a bit shorter than I originally intended. I apologize in advance if I still haven’t quite figured out how to properly resize the photos!

After an incredibly lackluster brunch at LouCa’s in Edison, I was really hoping for something more exciting and interesting for dinner and I got it! I ordered some food from Goody’s (they don’t have their own website unfortunately). Just in case I haven’t told you about this restaurant before, but it is pretty interesting… They specialize in Cuban/Chinese food!

I ordered the bean curd and broccoli with garlic sauce and white rice:

bean curd broccoli

bean curd broccoli

I also got some exciting and delicious sides! The first was steamed Yuca with Onions:

Steamed Yuca

Steamed Yuca

This was super delicious! Yuca or Cassava root is kind of like potato but with a sweeter flavor and the onions complimented it very nicely. It also has a good amount of fiber and protein!

My second side was fried plantains:

plantains

plantains

These were understandably a little greasy, but really good. I ordered them crispy without the sweet sauce and I definitely think that was a good option. The sauce would have definitely made them more desserty than what I was looking for. Though Goody’s doesn’t have very many vegetarian/vegan options, the ones they do have are really tasty and interesting. Their meat options are pretty greasy and salty, so it was a pretty nice surprise that the non-meat options were so much better.

Okay, so I think maybe I should head to bed about now, especially since tomorrow there is a twin peaks season 1 marathon on one of the strange channels my parents now get with FIOS… I hope your move tomorrow is not too stressful and that your drive is pleasant and it isn’t too hot outside andyoursnacksaredeliciousandyougethomesafe! Remember: do not open your exciting new cola until you are fully stopped. Thank you.

I miss you! 🙂

Until we eat again,

Caitlin

p.s. I haven’t listened to this yet but I have downloaded  it and am very intrigued. http://www.ptesquad.com/more/pte018.html I thought you might be too!

One comment

  1. I like the photos! I have never had yuca before, but it looks and sounds delicious! The fried plantains also look very delightful. I don’t think you’ve ever told me about Goody’s, but it sounds fun. We’ll have to go there sometime, now that we know it is moderately veggie-friendly!



Leave a Reply

