h1

Last (Homemade) Supper in Pittsburgh

July 26, 2009

Dear Caitlin,

After you left this afternoon, I needed something to keep my mind off your absence, so I did what anyone in my situation would do: clean. First I swept the floors, and then I moved all the stuff in my room out to the main area. Now it sort of looks like it did earlier today, before you moved all your stuff out:

Willie's Things

Remember earlier today? That was a good time…

Anyway, after moving all of your stuff and doing all this cleaning and rearranging (and, as a result, showering), I had worked up a mighty appetite and needed some nourishment. But before I hopped in the kitchen, I thought it would be a good idea to get my final food shopping done tonight, since there were a few things I wanted to pick up for the car ride home on Tuesday, and since I was really in the mood for a quirky juice.

So I wrote up a quick list and headed over to Whole Foods. Side note: It’s a really weird feeling when paper isn’t readily available in your apartment. I spent a minute trying to find something I could write on so I wouldn’t have to go rifling through boxes just for a piece of scrap paper. I ended up using half a sheet from the PUR printout. Here’s what it looked like:

Grocery List

As the list suggests, I had some fun adventures in Whole Foods. I found several exciting new things that I’m eager to try. Before I get to my dinner, here are some of the things I got for the car ride home:

Bars

Bars of all kinds! You know how much I love munchin’ on bars on a drive, and I think these will give me plenty of good, healthy (and much needed) energy.

FSTG Chips

So you’ve really gotten me hooked on these chips. Whole Foods had a sale so I couldn’t really pass up on these. I’m very excited about the Sweet Potato; the Buffalo, though very tempting, are actually a substitute for the Multigrain, which they were all out of (grumble grumble…).

Cricket Cola

Last but not least, some cola for the drive—Cricket Cola! If you can’t read the label, it’s “enhanced with green tea,” which to me sounds like one of those things that’ll be either totally awesome or completely horrid. We’ll see! (Just so you’re not worried, I think I’ll take my first sip when I’m not driving, to avoid any nausea-induced swerving.)

Anyway, on to dinner! Even before I went to Whole Foods, I already had my basic dinner plan set: whip up the remaining foodstuffs into something delicious. In other words, I would be eating some combination of veggie burgers, orzo, and frozen peas. After some internet snooping, I happened upon a simple orzo recipe that I could modify to suit my scanty pantry, so dinner was a go, and here’s what I ended up with:

Double-Decker Burger

First, the burger. It ended up being a double-decker because I had two patties and only one bun. Still not sure if this was a good idea. As you know, these patties weren’t the most delicious (or recent) and having two of them stacked on top of each other didn’t really make them any better. Thankfully, this wasn’t all I made…

Spicy Basil Orzo

Here’s my orzo concoction! It’s just orzo, peas, and then a smattering of spices: lots of basil, a generous sprinkling of paprika, pepper, and salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper. Not incredible, but very edible. Actually, my little box of orzo made much more food than I expected or needed. I can’t believe I ate the whole thing…

After these two hearty courses, I had no room left for the extra-special, quirky juice I bought! So I decided to save it for later and went off to do the dishes, and then I started writing this blog post. And right about when I realized that the apartment internet was gone, I suddenly had a refreshed appetite for my juice, which it easily quenched. Here was what I picked up:

Bossa Nova Juice

I had never seen this juice before, although I am no purveyor of juices. Apparently the company bills themselves as a “superfruit” juice maker, using only the best fruits for their drinks. The flavor I picked out was, as you can see, acai with mango, because I’ve been wanting to try some more acai, and also because I don’t feel guilty indulging in mango-y things when you’re not around. Anyway, this juice was de-li-cious! But it was also tiny, and $2.49, so I can’t really say if it was worth it. But I did love the taste, and I would love to taste some other flavors sometime. Perhaps the next time I’m feeling indulgent…

Talking about indulgence, I also picked up an extra-special dessert for me tonight, which I still have no appetite for. But I’m really looking forward to it when my appetite returns, because this looks like some delicious chocolate:

Berkshire Bark

If you can’t read it, the flavor is “pretzelogical,” which leads me to believe that there are pretzels and Vulcan magic mixed into this chocolate bar. Can’t wait! I will tell you how it goes later.

And that’s all for tonight! I don’t think I will be making any more homemade meals beyond cereal until I get back home, but after that I will be in full blogging mode! And I will be sure to write another post when I get back to tell you how all my car ride goodies were!

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. I can’t wait to hear about all of those traveling goodies! I’m also excited about that Star-Trek-reference-inducing chocolate bar! My eats haven’t been very exciting so far, just a salad from quick check and that yogurt parfait… but I did discover some blueberries in the refridgemonster downstairs! Maybe I’ll have something exciting to post later!

    Also, do you feel guilty indulging in mango!?!?! You shouldn’t! It’s clear that I have no qualms eating berries in front of you… 😦 does it offend?

    p.s. dessert?!?



Leave a Reply

