h1

Sweet Potato Curry Hummus

January 2, 2012

Happy New Year, folks!

Sorry I’ve been absent from the blog lately; the end of 2011 was keeping me plenty busy, and I just couldn’t find the time to blog! I’m ready to get back on track now, though, and to celebrate my return—and the new year—I’m here today to share a quick new hummus recipe I came up with this weekend: Sweet Potato Curry Hummus!

I got the idea for this hummus from the success I had with Oh She Glows’s excellent Spicy Curry Butternut Squash Hummus. Wanting to do something similar but a little different and yet still seasonal, I thought sweet potato would make an interesting substitute for the squash, especially if I replaced the tahini with peanut butter. The result was fantastic, although a little thicker than my hummuses usually turn out (and this despite all the water I added!). Anyway, this still turned out delicious. I hope you enjoy it too! (And if you are going to make it, don’t forget to check out my general tips on how to make hummus, if you haven’t read them already.)

Sweet Potato Curry Hummus
(makes about 3 cups)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups chickpeas, cooked
  • 1 medium sweet potato (should end up with 3/4 to 1 cup after it’s roasted)
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • approximately 10 tbsp reserved chickpea liquid, or water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp curry powder

Instructions

  1. Start by roasting your potato. Preheat your oven to 400°F or so, and then either: (a) peel and dice your yam, toss in a little bit of oil, salt, and pepper, and then spread out on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet; or (b) leave your yam unpeeled, poke a few times with a fork, and put it on your baking sheet whole. Bake until the flesh is very soft (at least 30 minutes, possibly more), then remove from oven. If using the unpeeled method, wait for the sweet potato to cool, and then scoop out the flesh, discarding the peel.
  2. Now simply whip everything together in a food processor, adding reserved chickpea liquid/water a little at a time until you reach your desired consistency.
  3. Garnish with crushed peanuts and cayenne powder if you’re being fancy, or not if you’re being lazy.

Mmmm. Can’t think of a yummier way to ring in the new year.

Until we eat again,

Willie

One comment

  1. This looks great. I had a busy end to 2011 as well, I feel your pain! I totally had no time to blog either. But I shall try to do one every day this week! Apart from Saturday :D. You’ve inspired me to crack out my recipe for carrot hummus!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

