h1

No-Bake Coconut Chai Oat Bars

October 29, 2011

Happy Saturday, everybody!

If you’ve been following this blog recently, you’ll already know that I’ve been having a bit of love affair with no-bake granola bars as of late. It all started when Gena posted a recipe for Sunflower Oat Bars, which totally blew me away, and also inspired me to come up with my very own Cocoa Nut Coconut Oat Bars. And today I’m back with a second variation, which takes the coconut flavors I so enjoyed in my last batch and combines them with the awesome spices of chai.

I got the idea of combining chai and coconut from this recent Vegtastic recipe for Coconut Chai Rice Krispie Treats. I loved how this sounded, but since I’m actually not too keen on (even vegan) marshmallows or crispy rice cereal, I wanted to find another way to get my newfound chai coconut fix, and a new batch of no-bake granola bars seemed like the perfect solution. And as it happened, I still had a batch of homemade chai spice mix lying around from the last time I made one of Gena’s Banana Chai Smoothies, so I was all set to go! I followed the same basic formula as my last oat bar recipes, sticking with Brazil nuts again and using a lot of dried cranberries, which I thought made a very nice complement. Anyway, here’s the recipe—hope you love these as much I do!

No-Bake Coconut Chai Oat Bars (makes 12 – 16 bars)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries (or other small dried fruit)
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped Brazil nuts (or other type of nuts)
  • 4 tbsp chai spice mix (if you need some, see these recipes from Vegtastic or Choosing Raw)
  • 2/3 cup nut butter
  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil

Instructions

  1. Mix together dry ingredients and 3 tbsp of the chai spice mix in one bowl.
  2. Mix together wet ingredients in another bowl, until homogeneous.
  3. Mix the contents of both bowls together.
  4. Line a baking dish with plastic wrap.
  5. Scoop granola mixture into the baking dish, spread out evenly, and press down firmly.
  6. Sprinkle remaining tbsp of chai spice mix on top.
  7. Cover with another layer of plastic wrap.
  8. Place in fridge overnight.
  9. The following morning, remove from fridge and cut into granola-bar-sized granola bars.
  10. Wrap each bar in plastic wrap and keep in fridge until ready to eat.

This recipe is also my submission for this week’s Wellness Weekend! If you don’t know what Wellness Weekend is, just check out this post here, where you’ll find ton(ne)s of amazing and healthy dishes that other bloggers have been whipping up this weekend. It’s awesome!

VeganMoFo #29/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. These look and sound awesome. Super-healthy ingredients and I love that they’re uncooked. Bookmarked – thanks!!


  2. Willie, these sound fantastic! And they look pretty, too. ;) I love that you used brazil nuts–so often overlooked! Thanks so much for submitting to Wellness Weekend this week!


  3. [...] No Bake Coconut Chai Oatmeal Bars from Until We Eat Again [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

