h1

Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Nut Spread

October 24, 2011

Happy Monday!

So I’ve really been digging cashew nut spreads (or cashew “cheese”) these days. Up to this point, however, I’ve basically been alternating between only two varieties: Gena’s Zesty Orange Cashew Cheese and Gena’s Cashew Ginger filling for nori rolls. These two recipes are fantastic, and I really think I could just stick to making these two spreads all the time, but this weekend I wanted to change things up and try something new. And given my recent love affair with Angela’s Ultra Creamy Red Pepper Hummus, I thought it’d be interesting to try throwing some freshly roasted peppers in with some cashews. The result: excellence.

The recipe is simple, and posted below. Like most cashew nut spreads, this is a very versatile treat which can be incorporated into sandwiches or nori rolls, used as a dip, or served on top of some of Earth & City‘s fantastic flatbread, like so (and it’s even better with some pea shoots from Kind Organics thrown on top!):

Anyway, if you want to make it for yourself, here’s all you gotta do…

Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Nut Spread (makes 2 cups)

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups cashews
  • 3 roasted red peppers
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 6 tbsp water
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp nootch
  • pepper to taste
  • paprika & red pepper flakes for garnish

Instructions

  1. Roast your peppers! (If you need some instructions, Angela’s easy-to-follow guide is what I always turn to when I need a refresher.)
  2. Mix everything in a food processor, drizzling in the water a little bit a time.
  3. You’re done! Now consume!

Happy eating!

VeganMoFo #24/31

Until we eat again,

Willie

6 comments

  1. This looks great! I just bought some roasted red peppers for another recipe I want to try (I’m too lazy to roast) and I have everything else on hand — will definitely be making this!


    • Awesome! Let me know how it goes!


  2. Loving this – it’s sort of like a new type of hummus really.


    • That’s how I use it! I try to have one tub of cashew nut spread and one tub of hummus in my fridge at all times. They’re both quick and easy snacks, and it’s nice to be able to switch back and forth!


  3. This looks SO good!!


  4. […] based it off this recipe from the great Until We Eat Again, only I leave out most of the nutritional yeast (and you could leave it out entirely if you […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

