h1

Another Dinner Party (plus Potato Rosemary Bread)

September 23, 2011

As I remarked last week, I’ve been throwing a lot of dinner parties lately. This past weekend proved to be no exception.

For regular readers of this blog, one of the dishes in this table spread will already look familiar: it’s Zucchini Pasta with Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto from Oh She Glows (a recipe I thoroughly gushed about earlier this week). It was a fantastic entree, and handily wowed my guests.

Alongside this I whipped up two fresh batches of hummus: on the left is some Peanut Sesame Hummus, my old friend from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink & Be Vegan, and on the right is some Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, another Oh She Glows recipe, which is just as fabulous as her pesto.

Of course, we needed something to spread these hummuses on, and for that purpose I went all-out and made two loaves of Potato Rosemary Bread from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, which as all people in-the-know know, is the bible of bread books. I started making this bread on Wednesday, making a biga pre-ferment during the day and letting it develop in the fridge until Friday, when I took it out and made the final dough mix (which included a cup of mashed potatoes!), let it rise for 2 hours, then shaped it and proofed it for another 2 hours before finally baking it. So it was an intensive process—but well worth it.

The crumb of this bread was near perfect, wonderfully soft and bursting with potato and rosemary flavor. My only disappointment was with the crust, which became limp and wrinkly during cooling. I guess I should’ve let the bread bake longer in the oven. Next time! (Because this bread definitely deserves a next time.)

Anyway, I hope this gives you some ideas for your next dinner party! Have a happy weekend!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. […] hummus—Roasted Red Pepper Hummus from Oh She Glows, to be exact (which I’ve raved about here). This hummus is fantastic on its own, but it works really even better on pizza I think, as its […]


  2. […] yes that’s right, I have, and not just once, not just twice, but again, and again, and again, and again. Nonetheless, it bears repeating: I really love baking bread. And I’ve been making […]


  3. […] I whipped up two batches of hummus: Creamy Red Pepper Hummus from Oh She Glows (which had already knocked me out twice before) and Apple Pie Hummus, a recipe from Healthy Kitschy Vegan which I was referred to by […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

