h1

Red Quinoa Pesto, Reposted

September 15, 2011

Hi all!

Today I am going to cheat a little: I’m reposting a recipe I’ve already blogged. So, if you’re a long time reader of this blog—and when I say “long time reader”, I mean people who have been reading UWEA for over two years, a set which to the best of my knowledge includes only my mother—then you may remember once seeing me rave about a dish I (sort of) made up called Red Quinoa Pesto. It blew me away when I first came up with it, and it’s still just as good. Unfortunately, when I originally posted the recipe, I for some reason hid it away at the very bottom of a very long post featuring photos of Rivers Cuomo and Michael Cera playing soccer, among other things. I recently revisited this recipe this past weekend, and since I want to feature in an upcoming post, I figured it finally deserved a post of its own.

So here you go: my recipe for Red Quinoa Pesto. The basic idea is simple: just make some pesto, mix it together with some quinoa, and then garnish (an idea I came up with based on a 101 Cookbooks recipe for Arugula Pesto Wheat Berries). The taste really is amazing, and of course it’s super healthy. White quinoa would work just as well here, too, and you can also use your own pesto recipe if you have one you really like (and in fact, this past weekend I chose to make it with Gena’s killer Pistachio Pesto, which was indeed killer). Have fun with it! That’s how recipes work.

Red Quinoa Pesto (serves 1, with extra pesto for further servings)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 to 2/3 cup red quinoa
  • 3 cups fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup nutritonal yeast
  • 2 pinches salt
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • additional basil leaves, pine nuts and nutritional yeast for garnish

Preparation

  1. Cook quinoa according to package instructions, or just cook it in about 3/4 cup simmering water. When done, put in a mixing bowl.
  2. Combine basil leaves, pine nuts, nutritional yeast, salt, and lemon juice in a food processor and pulse until ingredients are well mixed.
  3. With the food processor still running, drizzle in the olive oil.
  4. Take out about a 1/2 cup of the pesto and mix it in with the cooked quinoa.
  5. Serve pesto quinoa mixture with an extra dollop of pesto with additional pine nuts and nutritional yeast sprinkled on top and a laurel wreath of the remaining basil surrounding.

Enjoy this one, friends. I’ll be back tomorrow to show you how I incorporated it into a fabulous vegan and gluten-free dinner party. Cheers!

Until we eat again,

Willie

3 comments

  1. Oh wowsers, this look incredible – I also cant believe I just typed wowsers.


  2. It is incredible! Despite its simplicity, it bursts with flavor and works both as a dinner party entree and a quick meal for one.


  3. [...] We Eat Again Vegan Adventures from Toronto « Red Quinoa Pesto, Reposted How to Host a Vegan & Gluten-Free Dinner Party September 16, [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

