h1

My New Favorite Vegan Pizza Recipe

June 8, 2010

(Update: In the time since I originally wrote this post, I have since discovered an even more favorite vegan pizza recipe that you might also be interested (spoiler: it’s Roasted Pesto & Hummus Pizza). Don’t get me wrong; the pizza you see above is still delicious, but if you’re in the mood for something even more incredible, you may want to give my other pizza a spin.)

(Even more update: In the time since I originally wrote the above update to this post, I have since discovered a yet even more favorite vegan pizza recipe called Guacamole Naan Pizza, so you may want to check that out too!)

Pizza: Almost everybody loves eating it, but for vegans, it can remain elusive. Although I’m usually fine omitting the cheese from some dishes that’d usually call for it (such as burritos or pasta) or using a vegan cheese substitute in others (like in our recent mac ‘n’ cheese), I’ve always struggled with creating a satisfying vegan pizza pie. The easiest way I found to do it in the past was just to go untraditional and make things like Hummus or Chili Pizza, which, although satisfying, don’t really give you that classic pizza experience. And it’s something I definitely miss. In fact, pizza is probably one of my most frequent reasons for “breaking vegan” when Caitlin and I go out to eat (see this delicious excursion, for example). Long story short: I love pizza, and it not being in my life is just not an option. However, I no longer have to eat cheese to satisfy this craving. That’s right: I’ve finally found a vegan pizza recipe that I feel gives traditional pizza a run for its money.

Admittedly, I can’t take any credit for this fabulous vegan pizza; I was simply just fortunate enough to stumble upon it on the excellent No Meat Athlete blog a few weeks ago (which, if you haven’t checked out already, you definitely should, especially if you’re an active vegan runner like me!). And in fact, Matt from No Meat Athlete can’t really take the credit for this pizza either, as the recipe which he posted came from Robin Robertson’s vegan cookbook, Vegan on the Cheap. And as the title suggests, that means that, in addition to being delicious and vegan, this pizza is also completely affordable to make. So you really have no excuse not to try this recipe. But enough exhortation—let’s get to the pizza!

As you can see, Caitlin was so excited to eat this pizza that she got her knife in my photo! Anyway, what you see before you is a White Bean Pizza. It uses a simple yet delicious white bean puree as its base and sauce, which actually is what serves as the “cheese”. On top, we placed lots of sliced fresh tomatoes along with some fresh basil and thawed frozen spinach. Admittedly, this was still a bit untraditional, but the taste was amazing and definitely stood up to conventional pizza in my book. I ate a whole personal pie of this when we made it and loved every bite. Here’s a slice a little closer up…

So there you have it, a quality vegan pizza. Is this pizza good enough to win over vegetarian or omnivore pizza enthusiasts? I wouldn’t bet my money on it. But it is good enough to make vegan pizza lovers happy, and that’s good enough for me!

Until we eat again,

Willie

5 comments

  1. So where’s the recipe?


    • The recipe is here: http://goo.gl/H0RBg on No Meat Athlete’s blog! Sorry it wasn’t clear! Hope you like it :)


  2. I love making white bean “dip” for pizza. easy as pie, just puree a can of white beans with olive oil, nutritional yeast, and whatever spices you enjoy. sometimes I add mustard. leftovers make a great nutritious dip for pretzels or veggies,or sandwich spread.

    THE BEST EVER vegan pizza topping is: using a vegetable peeler, peel thin strips of zucchini…toss in bowl with salt and olive oil, pile on top of pie and bake. way better than any cheese substitute, and peeling the zucchini ensures it cooks nicely on the pie. great with reg. tomato sauce or the white bean sauce.


  3. [...] has utilized a cheesy spread made from mashed up white beans that I once described as “my new favorite vegan pizza recipe“. However, now that I’ve tasted today’s Roasted Pesto & Hummus Pizza, I have [...]


  4. [...] readers will remember my first “new favorite vegan pizza recipe”: this delicious White Bean Pizza. Then less than a month ago, I blew that recipe out of the water with “my (new) new favorite [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

