h1

Enjoying Other People’s Food

May 23, 2010

Dear everybody,

One night while I was back in Toronto, I had the pleasure of enjoying a big meal with some friends, an event that has been happening every two months or so. It’s always a great time involving lots of tasty food, and this dinner was no exception. Here was the amazing spread I got to gorge on.

The night started off with some tasty appetizers, such as this deliciously fresh guacamole. I love love love avocados, but rarely make guacamole for myself, reserving my avos for salad use instead. However, avocados are excellent in guac form as well, and I heartily enjoyed lots of this tasty dip.

There was also a massive platter of crostini with roasted red peppers, onion, and garlic. Although this looks like a huge amount of bread (and from what I remember, there was plenty more still waiting in the kitchen), our party quickly devoured these tasty little starters.

The meal’s first course was salad, featuring watercress, broccoli, quinoa, zucchini, and some seeds and dried fruit as toppings. I make lots of salads for myself (I think this was my second salad of the day), and I always enjoy trying the salads other people make. The combination of veggies on this plate was really good, and quinoa just makes everything better.

The main (vegetarian) course was roasted vegetables in some sort of mandarin orange sauce (sorry I don’t remember more exactly what it was). What I do remember was that it was delicious, and it worked very well with the assortment of veggies on the plate.

My contribution to the night’s meal was a batch of Lemon Poppyseed Crackle Cookies, probably my favorite cookie recipes from Dreena Burton’s treasure trove of vegan cookie recipes, Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. Although I intended these to be a dessert course, the majority of them were already gone by the time dessert rolled around! If you haven’t tried these irresistible cookies yourself yet, you absolutely must.

Finally, the in-house dessert was an interesting plate of pear, walnuts, and goat cheese in a balsamic vinegar dressing. This was a wonderful and unconventional dessert, not at all sweet but nonetheless very satisfying as an end to our wonderful meal. Best of all, our host found the recipe in a cookbook for pregnant women that he was flipping through at a bookstore earlier that day. I don’t know what exactly makes this a preggers-friendly recipe, but I definitely think its appeal outstrips its intended audience: this is a dessert anyone can enjoy.

And that was the end of our lovely meal. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did!

Until we eat again,

Willie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

